Main content

Martini Film Studios CEO Gemma Martini Elected to Chair of the Motion Picture Production Industry Association of BC

Martini Film Studios Founder and CEO Gemma Martini steps into the Chair position for the Motion Picture Production Industry Assn. of BC (MPPIA), elected at the Association’s Annual General Meeting of June 23 where the full 2022-23 Board of Directors was confirmed.

Gemma will lead on MPPIA’s 2022-23 strategic plan in collaboration with Board colleagues who together represent the spectrum of industry subsectors that make BC’s production centre a top contender on the global landscape: Studios, Facilities, Labour, Producers (Canadian & USA), Equipment Supply, Animation & VFX, Post Production, Education & Safety.

“I am incredibly honored to take on the role of Chair of the Board for the Motion Picture Production Industry Association in BC,” said Gemma Martini.  “MPPIA fulfills a vital role, leading on advocacy and promotion of an industry that attract billions of dollars of investment to the province and provides thousands of jobs in BC communities.  I look forward to working with my MPPIA Board colleagues, our industry community and our partners in government to continue cultivating the motion picture production industry’s important role as a key driver of British Columbia’s vibrant creative economy.

Read the Message from MPPIA past Chair Peter Leitch, Click Here

The MPPIA 2022-23 Board of Directors are:

Gemma Martini, Chair, Martini Film Studios
Peter Leitch, Past Chair — North Shore/Mammoth Studios
Michelle Grady, 1st Vice Chair — Sony Pictures Imagework
Phil Klapwyk, 2nd Vice Chair — IATSE 891
Kendrie Upton, Secretary — DGC BC
Craig Langdon, Treasurer — Vancouver Mobile Dressing Rooms
Mary Jo Beirnes, MBS Equipment Company Canada
Hans Dayal, Production Manager
Lindsay Donovan, Company 3 Vancouver
Tracey Friesen, CMPA BC
Andrew Jha, Picture Shop
Anand Kanna, Actsafe Safety Assn.
Spencer Kent, Industrial Light & Magic
Paul Klassen, BC Council of Film Unions
Peter Mitchell, Vancouver Film Studios
Wendy Noss, MPA Canada
Haydn Wazelle, ZedDrive
Tracey Wood, AMPTP

Return to News